Government

  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_node_status::operator_form() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::operator_form(&$form, &$form_state) in /home3/clairmo1/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/node/views_handler_filter_node_status.inc on line 13.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_style_default::options() should be compatible with views_object::options() in /home3/clairmo1/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_style_default.inc on line 24.

3/2: NOW is the time to contact our legislators! Voice your opinion about the future for Clairmont Heights.

Dear neighbors,

We are sending this appeal a second time because we believe this is a crucial time in the 2015 Georgia legislative session. The CHCA Board has been watching developments related to annexation and the possible creation of new cities and staying in touch with our area's representatives about the status of various proposals. The CHCA Board urges you to make your opinion known to our legislators.

In our September community survey (results available here), Clairmont Heights residents expressed a strong desire to join an existing city. Consistent with this result, we supported neighborhood efforts to join either the City of Decatur or the City of Atlanta. Following the advice of our area's legislators, a neighborhood group made a good faith effort to ask Decatur to consider adding us to their annexation map. Although the City of Decatur refused to consider annexing residential neighborhoods, the proposed map for an Atlanta annexation does include Clairmont Heights. The Atlanta option offers continued access to both Fernbank Elementary and Druid Hills High School, so the Board has worked to safeguard our access to these facilities because residents placed great importance on school concerns in the survey. We recently sent two different statements to our legislators as we worked to retain our neighborhood's position at the table during this legislative discussion:

--The Board previously asked our representatives to oppose Decatur's unreasonable annexation plan. (Review this statement here.)

--The Board recently called for our legislators to keep us as part of an Atlanta annexation and and retain access to our schools. (Read here.)

YOUR voice is urgently needed at this point. In particular, think about and comment on two important aspects of the annexation debate: (1) Decatur should NOT be allowed to annex almost ALL commercial areas adjacent to us and AVOID providing services to homeowners nearby. (2) Our representatives should SUPPORT and RESPECT our desire to remain on an Atlanta annexation bill that keeps us with our schools.

The CHCA Board recommends that you voice your opposition to Decatur's Master Annexation Plan because it grabs revenue from our kids' schools without taking our kids. 

The last week has brought rumors of changing maps for this area, so the Board also suggests that you call upon our legislators to keep Clairmont Heights as part of the Atlanta annexation map. We deserve a voice and a vote about any annexation bill that affects our access to either Druid Hills High School or Fernbank Elementary. We have been members and strong supporters of these schools since our neighborhood - and Fernbank itself - were built. Any proposal that severs that relationship should NOT move forward.

Since completing our community survey back in September, 2014, the CHCA Board has worked diligently to keep our representatives informed about your wishes. Your personal emails and phone calls will create a stronger impression. The best time to do this is right now. See the full story for legislative contact information.

A city-creation bill (Lavista Hills) must be introduced by the legislative "Crossover" day - March 13, 2015 - while an Atlanta or Decatur annexation bill has a slightly later deadline, so this is truly an urgent issue. 

 

Please contact our areas representatives by email or phone:

Elena Parent (Senator, District 42)  404.656.5109 , elena.parent@senate.ga.gov

Rahn Mayo (House Representative, District 84) 404.656.6372rahn.mayo@house.ga.gov

We recommend sending your email to the remaining members of the DeKalb delegation:

Stacey Abrams stacey.abrams@house.ga.gov

Karen Bennett karen.bennett@house.ga.gov

Dee Dawkins-Haigler dee.dawkins-haigler@house.ga.gov

Karla Drenner karla.drenner@house.ga.gov

Michele Henson michele.henson@house.ga.gov

Scott Holcomb scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov

Mike Jacobs mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov

Darshun Kendrick darshun.kendrick@house.ga.gov

Billy Mitchell billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov

Howard Mosby howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

Mary Margret Oliver mary.oliver@house.ga.gov  

Tonia Peterson-Anderson mspete16@yahoo.com

Pamela Stephenson pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov

Tom Taylor tom.taylor@house.ga.gov

Ernest Williams ernest.williams@house.ga.gov

Gloria Butler gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov

Gail Davenport gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov

Steve Henson stevehenson@mindspring.com

Emanuel Jones emanj@mindspring.com

Fran Millar fran.millar@senate.ga.gov

Ronald Ramsey ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov

 

Commissioner Kathie Gannon: District 6 Events & February 24th BOC Agenda

Super District 6 Commissioner Kathie Gannon:
(events: food drive, plant sale, animal adoptions)

[MORE INFO]

 

Commissioner Gannon: "Action Needed To Reform DeKalb"

DeKalb County Commissioner Kathie Gannon:

Dear Friends,
To rebuild trust with our citizens, we must reform DeKalb County government. There have been several citizen led organizations that have spent the past year developing meaningful reforms. These issues are now coming before the General Assembly and your voice must be heard.

Regardless of whether you are in or out of a city, we all live in DeKalb County. The reforms proposed are essential for rebuilding trust through transparency and accountability. Please email members of the DeKalb Delegation and ask them to reform DeKalb government. Below are the email contacts for the Delegation. Also shown below is a generic letter that you can use. If you want to add a statement about cityhood, annexation or remaining in unincorporated DeKalb feel free to add you views.

Thank you for your commitment to reforming DeKalb!
Kathie Gannon - DeKalb County Board of Commissioners- Super District 6

[SAMPLE LETTER / LIST OF DELEGATION EMAIL CONTACTS]

 

Town Hall Meeting with State Senator Elena Parent, THU 02-19-2015, 6:30 pm

State Senator Elena Parent (D, Senate District 42) will host her first Town Hall Meeting for her constituents this Thursday, February 19, 2015, at 6:30 pm. The location is the Fellowship Hall at North Decatur Presbyterian Church, 611 Medlock Road, Decatur, GA 30033.

Town Hall Meeting tonight - Interim CEO Lee May

ONE Dekalb:  
reminder- Town Hall Meeting tonight - 
7pm, University Heights UMC 1267 Balsam Drive Decatur
"Please join Interim CEO Lee May at any of the meetings throughout the county as he discusses his outlook for 2015." 
 
 

BOC Agenda for February 10th & Other Events

District 2 Commissioner Jeff Rader:
(Party for Parks Gala, Presidents Day waste/recycling, sched + agenda)

[MORE INFO]

District 6 Events & Feb 10 BOC Agenda

Commissioner Kathie Gannon:
(sanitation mtg, food drive, senior fitness, lane closures, pet adoptions, + BOC agenda)

[READ MORE]

District 6 Events & January 27th BOC Agenda

SuperDistrict 6 Commissioner Kathie Gannon: District 6 Events & January 27th BOC Agenda

Interim CEO Lee May Hosting Series of Town Hall Meetings

Interim CEO Lee May Hosting Series of Town Hall Meetings on his outlook for 2015

first one:
Tue, Jan 27; 7pm - 8:30pm
Mainstreet Clubhouse
5001 Mainstreet Park Drive
Stone Mountain, GA 30088

[READ MORE / FULL SCHEDULE]

Syndicate content